//
you're reading...
Events

A Merry Christmas to All!

Merry Christmas from Chopstick, the only dog we know who waits for Christmas Day so she can open her own gifts

We hope the holiday season brings you all joy, health and a fully belly.  Despite being a heathen, I still celebrate Christmas because there’s nothing like seeing a kid’s eyes light up when they get just what they asked Santa for. Sadly, it seems like every year retailers dig their claws a little deeper in us (I swear I was seeing Christmas shit in stores before Halloween), but hopefully everyone was able to enjoy some of the simpler joys of the season: time with loved ones, a white Christmas (in the Bay Area? Yeah right – I’m still golfing in sunshine), some heavily spiked egg nog and perhaps some prolonged lingering beneath the mistletoe.

Garlic Thyme Roasted Pork Shoulder

Garlic Thyme Roasted Pork Shoulder

Christmas Eve was spent with my brother Dean, his wife Anita and their daughter Natalie.  We brought over the above Bone-In Pork Shoulder Roast with Sauteed String Beans and coupled it with one of Dean’s specialties: Sweet Potato Casserole with a Cobbler Crumble Topping.  He also made a composed salad with a raspberry vinaigrette to start things off and we paired the meal with an unreal 2002 Cab from Steven Kent Winery.

Sweet Potato Casserole with Cobbler Crumble Topping

For Christmas morning it was just me, Wifey, our dog Chopstick and Dean’s dog Mimi who is staying with us while her family is off to Hawaii. Forget kids getting excited to open gifts – I bet you’ve never seen a dog go buck wild over her Christmas gifts. Chopstick not only knows when Christmas day arrives, she knows exactly which of the wrapped gifts are dog toys. In fact, last night she got in trouble for going under Dean’s tree and opening one of the other dogs’ gifts. Here she is opening one of her own gifts:

One of Wifey's gifts to me. I'm going to be immersion blending the shit out of everything!

This year I decided to go the “pampering” route for the Wife, so she got her favorite perfume, lotions and girlie stuff. I also self-gifted myself a new Samsung Galaxy II phone, but that is actually for work and was required as a result of losing my Blackberry at a boobie bar during a recent bachelor party (don’t ask – long story, as they always are). Above all else the favorite thing I opened this morning was the card below from Wifey. Of course I am not sharing what she wrote, but suffice it to say it made a bro’s eyes well up. Woman, you sure know how to tug at your boy’s heartstrings.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays, everyone!

Me and Wifey as Snow People

About Huy-zer

Jack of all trades, master of none. Do not approach unless you're prepared for a blizzard of useless facts and 80's music trivia.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “A Merry Christmas to All!

  1. a few months ago I received in the mail Sur La Tables catalog. or was it a Williams-Sonoma catalog I can’t remember. Anyway, I was flipping through it looking at all the latest and newest kitchen stuff even though I don’t cook and saw the picture of a pork roast on a barbecue grill. I think what was being advertised was a meat thermometer. But I didn’t care about that I was more excited to see the pork roast. It looked delicious with fresh herbs and charred marks on it. I turned to my hubby and said “I NEED you to make this for me.” Then I said think it should be our Christmas pork roast beast. That’s what he made for Christmas Eve’s dinner and it was delicious.

    We had a very nice and quiet Christmas. Not a lot of stress, not a lot of rushing around,a very relaxing day.

    Posted by 1milagritos | December 28, 2011, 11:06 pm
  2. we should upload a video of our dog chopstick opening her presents. It’s pretty funny and quite a sight to see. I don’t know any other dog who loves to open presents and loves Christmas as much as mine.

    Posted by 1milagritos | December 28, 2011, 11:08 pm
  3. As requested, video of our girl Chopstick now embedded in the post. The camera loves her!

    Posted by Huy-zer | December 29, 2011, 8:16 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

