//
you're reading...
Events

Thanksgiving: The Aftermath

Thanksgiving. Just the word warms the cockles (whatever those are). Our Vietnamese family didn’t celebrate it much growing up, but when we did it was usually with random Vietnamese dishes, typically seafood. While schoolmates went on and on about their turkey, cranberry, stuffing, gravy, mashed potatoes and biscuits, I quietly wondered if the Pilgrims ever ate chow mein on Thanksgiving night.

With that backdrop, you can only imagine how excited I was when I first got the chance to celebrate my very own Thanksgiving. Especially since The Wife and I have been together it’s been something I look forward to each year. Whether we celebrate at my place or one of my brothers, we do it up for reals: turkey, cranberry chutney, homemade biscuits, sweet potatoes, green beans, stuffing, mashed potatoes, pan gravy, pumpkin pie and apple pie. This year we had Wifey’s entire family over to my place so I had the privilege of making an herb brined roast turkey and gravy. The Mrs. made her prized  cranberry chutney and everyone else brought sides. A memorable meal was had by all. I’ll be sharing recipes over the next few weeks so y’all can file it away perhaps for a future Turkey Day. Until then, here’s a pictorial retrospective of the night. Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

Plump and juicy fresh cranberries for the chutney

Plump, juicy, fresh cranberries for the chutney

Tarragon, Sage, Thyme, Parsley, Rosemary, Yellow Onion, Lemon and Garlic for the Brine (don't worry, we removed the stickers before brining!)

The bird gets her first basting

Mis en place for the cranberry chutney

Browned turkey necks and aromatics simmering in chicken broth for the gravy

After about two hours of simmering the chutney is completely broken down and ready to be chilled before eating

Took some work, but I was able to make room for the paint bucket with turkey enclosed

A few fancy maneuvers later and you can barely tell there's a turkey stashed in there

There she is, the girl of my dreams

About Huy-zer

Jack of all trades, master of none. Do not approach unless you're prepared for a blizzard of useless facts and 80's music trivia.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Thanksgiving: The Aftermath

  1. mmmm. I’m hungry for some turkey and chutney!

    Posted by 1milagritos | December 4, 2011, 10:46 pm
  2. hey, I am surprised and very impressed with your stacking and reorganizing skills. I can’t believe you got everything back into that fridge! Too bad you can’t apply that to your side of the bedroom closet!

    Posted by 1milagritos | December 4, 2011, 10:51 pm
  3. like you, growing up we did not have typical thanksgiving food unless i was lucky enough to be invited for turkey dinner at a friend’s. one year, my father made duck.

    as a result, i am quite ambivalent about thanksgiving fare. last year, i turned off my phone, ignored emails & made duck. this year, i was sick so i skipped the dinner.

    i am also impressed with your stacking skills in the fridge.

    Posted by Lan | December 6, 2011, 8:44 am
    • Duck sounds delicious for Thanksgiving! It wouldn’t quite serve all the hungry mouths at my house (I am one of thirteen kids) but it would be a nice break from the ordinary. It would never fly with The Wife, though. She needs her whole American style T-Day get up.

      Duck is one third of the Turducken triumvirate so it’s not like it would be something completely new. I was actually saying to my brother over dinner that someone should take it up one level by stuffing a squab inside the chicken, and then a quail inside the squab, so you end up with a Turduckensquabail. Crazy? Maybe, but we do live in the land of excess, no?

      Posted by Huy-zer | December 6, 2011, 10:21 am
      • Let’s go duck next year. But I need to have my stuffing and cranberry chutney too.

        Posted by 1milagritos | December 29, 2011, 8:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

