//
you're reading...
Events

Too Many Cocks in the Kitchen

When it comes to cooking I love themed meals and events.  I’m not talking about an “Enchantment Under the Sea” BBQ or some such shit, but having something that ties together the food makes it more interesting and sometimes more challenging to pull together.

Aside – I am making a personal plea to all my peeps out there who plan to make or are already in the process of making a baby: please consider keeping an age-old tradition alive and refrain from making your baby showers co-ed. At the very least please make it on a Sunday during the fall, call it a football BBQ and preferably hold it at a sports bar.  Us dudes don’t mind hanging out with other guys on a Sunday having a brew but please don’t make us tell our co-workers we spent our Sunday at a baby shower.

Many months ago I was approached by my buddy Kunal to throw a dinner where he, I and our friend Hakeem would cook a meal for our wives/girlfriends together.  Now, if you’re reading this then obviously you already know that’s a daily occurrence in my household anyways, but doing it as a team for all our SO’s sounded like a great idea.  Thus began the story of “Too Many Cocks in the Kitchen” night.  I loosely based the name on a song by The Flight of the Conchords called “Too Many Dicks on the Dancefloor.”  I really miss this show – if you have not seen it, I suggest you set aside a day to spend on YouTube watching all their videos.  Until then, the video that inspired the naming of Too Many Cocks in the Kitchen:


“You guys are dorking up my vibe with all the dicks.”

For the first event we decided that each of us would cook a separate dish just to keep it simple.  I made an appetizer of miniature blinis (potato cakes from French Laundry at Home recipe), beer braised Kurobuta pork belly and a fig port reduction.  Hakeem made an amazing turkey pot pie with mushrooms, fresh herbs and a whole host of other savory ingredients that he rattled off so fast it made me think he didn’t want me to remember his secret recipe!  And Kunal was working the grill, firing up mixed veggie and chicken kabobs marinated in Indian spices that (in his words) were, “Too many to name.”

You could tell by the count of empty wine bottles and full bellies that the night was a raging success.  If you enjoy eating with people whose company you enjoy, make time to cook a meal with those friends.  There’s nothing like looking at a beautiful meal at your table, knowing that you worked together to create it (damn, makes me long for Thanksgiving Dinner already).  Next time I think we’ll take it Next Level and compose a menu and actually work together on cooking the components of each dish.  Could be magic.  Could be culinary clusterfuck.  Always worth a try.  Until then, enjoy these pics.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Huy-zer

Jack of all trades, master of none. Do not approach unless you're prepared for a blizzard of useless facts and 80's music trivia.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Too Many Cocks in the Kitchen

  1. Too Many Cocks in the Kitchen was a fun dinner party. Not because the men did all the cooking, but because the dishes they prepared and served us were ones that were very well thought out. I felt like we went around the world with our cuisine. We tasted a little Italian, French, Indian and American influenced dishes. I loved the kabobs, spicy and so flavorful, the savory pie felt like good ole home cooking, winter comfort food. The Italian dish, which was a simple one, but an oh so good and refreshing one. It was fresh tomatoes with mozzarella, basil and balsamic vinaigrette drizzled on top. The blinis with the pork belly was a really good dish. The blinis were so light and fluffy, just like a pancake should be but made out of potatoes. The pork belly was tender and succulent and the port reduction was a nice sauce that pulled together the whole dish. Dessert was my favorite part of the night….god, those macarons…..they were some of the best I’ve ever had! Just thinking about them still gives me warm happy fuzzy feelings!

    Oh a side note- Um, Mr. Husband! You know, us women have to carry around a growing human being inside our bodies for almost 10 months. We kiss goodbye our cute figures, stretch mark free skin and our perky happy boobies! So if we plan a co-ed baby shower you better be there even if it’s on a football Sunday with a big smile on your face and be ready to ooooh and aaaaah over cute little baby socks, blankets and bottles. Then go into work the following day to tell your co-workers how much fun you had!

    Posted by 1milagritos | November 14, 2011, 1:53 pm
    • This is awesome. It’s bad enough my wife and I can sit in the same room and IM each other instead of just talking. Now we are having a conversation via Blog. Truly sad.

      I have the utmost respect for what women go through having to carry a baby in their belly for over nine months. I’m one of thirteen so I can only imagine what my mama had to go through. That said, Mom never subjected my Dad to co-ed baby showers. Or at least she allowed him to tell his co-workers he “went hunting” or some manly shit like that.

      Posted by sonnyspade | November 14, 2011, 10:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

