//
you're reading...
Composed Dishes

Broiled Mackerel and Teriyaki Pork Tenderloin with Kale in Dashi Miso Sauce

Saturday night. Dinner for two.


The Wife loved the succulent tenderloin. The sauce pairing? Not so much.

Mackerel: Norwegian mackerel from Marukai Japanese Market in San Jose, CA. Quick cured and broiled, served with meyer lemon from Old MacDonald’s Farmer’s Market in San Jose, CA.

Pork Tenderloin: From Marukai. Pan seared, then oven roasted and served with homemade ginger garlic teriyaki sauce.

Kale in Dashi Miso Sauce: Lacinato kale from Sunnyvale Farmer’s Market.

About Huy-zer

Jack of all trades, master of none. Do not approach unless you're prepared for a blizzard of useless facts and 80's music trivia.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Broiled Mackerel and Teriyaki Pork Tenderloin with Kale in Dashi Miso Sauce

  1. Ok, here is what I have to say about this meal. The first time the hubs made Kale it was over cooked. But this time he did it right. He cooked it until it was tender but not mushy and it still resembled Kale. There was still some texture and bite to it and I really enjoyed eating it.I think Kale is my new favorite leafy green!
    I thought the Dashi Miso sauce was tasty and went well with the Kale. It was light and slightly sweet sauce with a mild Bonita flavor.

    The Broiled Mackerel was so fresh. The Hubs first thought it came salted and then he realized he had to salt it himself. The nice thing was it wasn’t overly salty like it is at restaurants. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not one of the people who don’t like salt or use it. I love my salt! But, I think I prefer to have it at home instead of the restaurants now. My only change or request when we have it again will be for it to be broiled a little longer. I like it to be extra crispy! So you hear that husband, make it a little more crispy for me please!

    Posted by 1milagritos | November 7, 2011, 3:22 pm
    • Yes, crispy can easily be achieved, lady. If you look at the recipe for the mackerel itself I did mention that I took a shortcut by broiling it on foil. ideally, it would be on a small wire rack or better yet a fish rack, so the fat drips away from the fish and it crisps up even more. Further, the broiling method can only achieve so much. Alas, pan frying (or even DEEP frying??) would crisp the ever living shit out of this fish but since we are trying to exit Planet Lard Ass I reckoned it would be smart to just broil it. Love you, dear.

      Posted by sonnyspade | November 8, 2011, 11:50 pm
  2. Crap, I forgot to write about the roast tenderloin! How can I forget about that pork tenderloin! It was soooo tender in the middle with a perfect salt and pepper crust on the outside. The sauce was a homemade ginger teriyaki sauce that he made last week. Because the teriyaki sauce was sitting in the fridge for a few days with chunks of ginger in it, it gave the ginger a chance to really infuse its gingeriness (new word) into the sauce. I loved it but the husband said it had an overly bold ginger taste and he remixed it and made it taste more like traditional teriyaki sauce. I love that sauce, I can eat it with a spoon but I will admit it DID NOT go with the salt and pepper crusted pork tenderloin. But of course I still ate it and probably did a happy food dance at the table.

    Posted by 1milagritos | November 7, 2011, 3:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

